A New View of Healthy Eating: Healthy Recipes by Melanie Albert: Quick & Simple Flatbread Local Tomato Sauce

Posted by

by Melanie A. Albert, intuitive cooking expert, author, speaker, retreat host, Founder & CEO Experience Nutrition Group, LLC, Phoenix, Arizona.

This morning I was craving my sprouted spelt flatbread, so I started with activating the yeast and letting the dough rise. Honestly, my vision was to roast veggies, make a cashew nut cheese and white sauce. However, I was away from my home most of the day — shopping for superfoods and attending the Slow Food Phoenix Event: Slow Foods. Fast Friends Event. Such an energizing event around local food and sustainability, I’m so excited to get more involved in our local food movement in Phoenix.

img_6311.jpg

Remembering the melt in your mouth simple Margarita Pizza that I enjoyed in Milan, Italy, so many decades ago, when I returned home in the evening I decided to make a really quick tomato sauce with garlic and sea salt for the flatbread. And, I loved it!

Three Tips to Activate Yeast “Perfectly”

Several weeks ago, when I blogged the steps to activate yeast and rise flatbread dough a few of my friends asked me how the yeast is so fluffy. My tips:

  • Water Temperature. Get the water temperature in the right range, 112 -115 degrees Fahrenheit. To do this, bring water to almost a boil. Then mix that water with cooler water until the temperature is In the 112-115 degree range.
  • Do not use a metal utensil to stir the yeast water. Use a wooden spoon.
  • Add-in ingredients with the yeast and water. I use local Arizona honey, extra virgin olive oil, and a dash of sea salt.

 

 

Step-by-step: Dough rising.

 

Roll-out the dough with a rolling pin between parchment paper.

 

The Simple Tomato Sauce & Toppings

Ingredients

  • Organic olive oil
  • Tomatoes: Abby Lee Farms
  • Fresh garlic
  • Sea Salt
  • Arugula: Blue Sky Organic Farm
  • Goat cheese
  • Olives

d-01-tomatos-img_6314.jpg

Simple Steps

  • Heat saute pan on medium heat.
  • Saute tomatoes and garlic for 3-5 minutes, adding sea salt after the tomatoes begin to soften.

 

Bake the Flatbread

  • Place pizza stone into oven. Heat oven at 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • Place rolled-out dough onto pizza stone.
  • Increase oven temperature to 400 degrees.
  • Coat top with olive oil.
  • Bake for 5-7 minutes.
  • Add toppings.
  • Bake for 5 minutes.
  • Enjoy.

 

Interested in Melanie Albert’s cookbook, “A New View of Healthy Eating,” order today and I’ll gift-wrap and mail a copy to you. 

 

F-01-final-flatbread-IMG_E6353

Leave a comment